top of page
Search
  • edithcoberman

Lockdown and art.

Hello everyone, today I wanted to blog about lockdown and my journey through art throughout it.

Also, how it has helped my mental health throughout lockdown.


In Lockdown my mental health has been suffering and art has been my great escape, I can put my emotions and feelings into my art pieces.

When I draw I can just focus on the drawing and forget any problems or troubles I am going through.

My mind just lets go and is free for that time when I am in my safe place which for once is in my own head.


When I put my emotions into the drawing it just gets rid of that thing that was tipping me over the edge.


In lockdown, I mainly have been focusing on my darker pieces since my emotions around this lockdown are darker. A lot of the images I draw represent how I was feeling at the time I drew it and my emotions can give me idea’s for things to draw and how to draw them. I tend to show how I am feeling through my artwork by adding something which is associated with that certain emotion (e.g. for sadness I might add a tear).


I have been using a lot of shading and more realistic elements mixed with cartoon outlining on features such as the eyes. I tend to look at other artists work and add my own elements and customize it or just start from my imagination.


Even if you aren’t an artistic person or haven’t tried art or something creative, give it a go! It’s a great outlet for these frustrating times we are currently going through. Just put in some headphones in, sit down and draw away, whatever comes to mind maybe look around there is always inspiration. Or ask yourself, “how do I feel” and draw something which represents your emotions. If anyone wants to leave constructive criticism you are more than welcome to do so, I want to improve and that is one of the few ways. Or if you wanted to suggest styles or techniques feel free to do so. And if you have a question then please ask and I would be more than happy to answer.


Thanks for reading! Please share my blog and follow my Pinterest.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page